top of page
Hello Lovely...

I'm Kaitlyn, I enjoy piña coladas and getting caught in the rain, cake, and shoving baked goods in my face. I love creating beautiful things and I'm so happy you stopped by! 

More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Get All the New Recipes to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Rosemary Ruby Red Grapefruit Cake

I have had this huge rosemary bush outside of my house for as long as I can remember and because of this, rosemary has always been one of my favorites. It smells delicious and blooms these beautiful small purple flowers, how could you not love it?

A few months ago I was enjoying the weekend in Palm Springs and went to the famous Cheeky's for brunch and I ordered a Rosemary Paloma. While the bacon and everything was delicious... it was all about the ROSEMARY PALOMA. Like seriously, it was amazing. So amazing it helped inspire this little babe of a cake.

This cake is light, moist, and not overly sweet making it perfect for summer if you ask me. It has a light layer of a tangy sweet frosting that coats the outside of the cake giving it a light crunch.

 

Rosemary Ruby Red Grapefruit Cake

Cake:

1/2 c plain yogurt

1 c sugar

3 eggs

1 1/2 c all purpose flour

2 t baking powder

pinch of salt

1 T grapefruit zest

1/2 c vegetable oil

2 T grapefruit juice

1 T finely diced rosemary

Glaze:

1/4 c grapefruit juice

3/4 c powdered sugar

pinch of zest

 

Cake:

  1. first things first, preheat your oven to 350 F and grease an 8in pan.

  2. in a large bowl mix the yogurt, sugar, eggs, and zest

  3. next add the flour, baking powder, salt, and rosemary

  4. once that is all incorporated fold in the oil and grapefruit juice until they are all mixed and happy together

  5. pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for ~40 minutes or until golden brown and delicious. let sit for 10 minutes and remove from the pan to cool.

Glaze:

  1. in a small bowl combine the sugar, juice, and zest until the desired consistency is reached. feel free to add more sugar if you like a thicker glaze or more juice if you prefer a thinner glaze.

  2. once the cake is cooled pour the glaze over the cake in all of its glory and devour.

bottom of page