top of page
Hello Lovely...

I'm Kaitlyn, I enjoy piña coladas and getting caught in the rain, cake, and shoving baked goods in my face. I love creating beautiful things and I'm so happy you stopped by! 

More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Get All the New Recipes to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Salted Caramel Chocolate Cake


I know a lot of people with birthdays this month, and this little beauty is for my dad. Every year he asks for a chocolate cake, but this year I thought I would make it extra special...

I covered this little 5 layer cake in fudge frosting, drizzled caramel all over it, then topped it off with my favorite chocolate chip cookie and a nice hit of flour de sel. Are you drooling yet?

This is my absolute favorite chocolate cake, I have been making this cake for years it is my absolute go to. It never disappoints and is always a crowd pleaser. It also helps that it is the easiest cake to make on this planet. You don't have to cream or whip anything, you just throw it into a big bowl and mix, it's the best.

P.S. if you are not putting coffee in your chocolate cake, you need to! That is my secret. shhhhhh

​​

 

Salted Caramel Chocolate Cake

Chocolate Cake:

1 3/4 c lour 2 c sugar 3/4 c dark cocoa 2 t baking soda 1 t baking powder

1 t salt

2 eggs

1 c coffee (cold)

1 c buttermilk

1/2 c veg oil

1 t vanilla

Salted Caramel:

1 c sugar

1 stick butter

1/2 c heavy cream

1 t vanilla bean or vanilla extract

pinch of salt

 

Chocolate Cake:

  1. preheat the oven to 350 F, i'm fancy and like to make my own buttermilk (the real reason is i'm too lazy to go to the store for buttermilk) so i start by mixing a cup of milk with a splash (1T) of vinegar and letting that sit for one minute.

  2. mix all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl, and just dump in all of your wet ingredients and mix well with a whisk. see i told you this was the easiest thing ever.

  3. Pour into sprayed pans and bake until a tooth pick comes out clean, about 30 minutes for a 6in' pan.

Salted Caramel:

  1. put butter, cream, and sugar in a sauce pan over medium heat.

  2. bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer, timer for 3 minutes stirring with a wooden spoon

  3. once thick add salt and vanilla

  4. let cool and enjoy!


bottom of page